I Am NOT A Unique Snowflake

Thoughts from www.MarcoArash.com

Living Alone

Don’t expect anyone else to support you. Maybe you have a trust fund, maybe you have a wealthy spouse; but you never know when either one might run out.

Living alone is not all it’s cracked up to be.

When I was younger I was in such a rush to move out, become independent and start living ‘life’.
The freedom of not answering to your parents, the ability to come and go and do whatever you want seems so fun and inviting but it is so much more complicated than that.

I’ve been living on my own for 8 year now.
Started off with sharing a place with roommates, then renting my own place, and now I’m a home-owner and totally independent.

That’s a problem though: being independent.
It forces you to pick up many things (budgeting, cooking, laundry, responsibility, etc) but it also takes a lot out of you.

It leaves you LONELY.
I’m not talking about being a loner or not having friends (you have the freedom to have anyone over, anytime you want).

What I’m referring to is not having someone to talk to.

When I was living at home I had my family. Now, I have to drive or call them if I was to see them, but it’s not the same.

You get accustomed to certain things and it’s tough to get un-accustomed to them.

I remember hearing my mother typing up on the computer and whispering with my dad so as not to wake up the kids in the middle of the night.
I remember waking up to the smell of breakfast and voices each and every morning.
I remember getting in arguments with my parents over the most trivial and minor things.
I remember play-fighting with my sister all the time, but now that I see her, it’s just a hug, kiss and conversation.

Just like in any relationship, it’s the small things that make all the difference in the world.

Good or bad, they create a deep scar in your heart that you carry on forever.
‘The sweet is never as sweet, without the sour’.

With that being said, I have a lot of respect for those who CHOOSE to stay at home and live with their family.

I’m not talking about people who use their parents as free room and board, but I mean more along the lines of those who stay with their parents (till they are married or something) because they want to take care of them and return all the devotion their parents had given to them, when they were children and needed guidance.

May 21, 2005 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

