I Am NOT A Unique Snowflake

Thoughts from www.MarcoArash.com

Euthanasia

Euthanasia is a long, smooth-sounding word, and it conceals its danger as long, smooth words do, but the danger is there, nevertheless.

Million-Dollar Baby is a film about a woman boxer who eventually becomes paralyzed and is euthanized by her friend/trainer. It is getting quite a bit of hype at this year’s Oscars and I saw it and so did my parents.

I have been raised Catholic and have written a few papers on euthanasia in the past. Even with my religious upbringing, I still see the situation as being a grey matter, and not having black and white boundaries.

My parents stance (and many other religious and morally-conscious individuals) would say that NO ONE has the right to end another person’s life, except for God. There is not ONE exception to this rule (be it abortion, suicide, euthanasia, death penalty, etc.)

But there are always questions you must ask yourself.

What if a girl was brutally raped & became pregnant?
What if a girl became pregnant from her incestuous uncle?

And then it brings up the point in Million Dollar Baby (granted this is just ONE situation).

The character is a poor, 30-something, uneducated waitress who has a family that doesn’t care for her at all, no friends and her only passion is boxing. She is eventually paralyzed at the height of her career, her leg is amputated, she cannot move anything except her eyes and mouth and is still so young. She tries to kill herself several times, but is not successful and eventually does so with the help of her friend/trainer.

My parents claimed that just because her body is severed and not of use, doesn’t mean that her mind is. In fact, she should be strong and make the best of what she has until her life naturally ends.

I picture myself in her situation and cannot see myself being bed-ridden for another 30-50 years, doing nothing other than staring at the white walls all day. No matter what moral anguish I would put myself through I would not be able to continue my life, as I have such high expectations.

As I said before, this is all a grey, case-by-case situation.
If euthanasia became legal or widely used it would be exploited and used on trivial matters.

This topic can be discussed for days on end, and not everyone will be happy with the outcome.

I close my eyes and picture my father asking me to end his life after a horrific accident.
(God forbid this would ever become reality).

If someone close to me who I love and care for would ask me to help him end his life it would probably be the most difficult decision in my life.

No matter how tortured and morally-exploited I would feel inside afterwards, I think I would eventually do as he would want me to as I would not want to see someone I love, filled with intelligence and grace to be reduced to a vegetable who has no source of happiness in his life.

February 2, 2005 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

