I Am NOT A Unique Snowflake

Thoughts from www.MarcoArash.com

The Following

Do one thing everyday that scares you.

Yesterday started off very typical.

Woke up, went to work, came back home, and decided to go for a walk in some sub-zero temperature. Being out in the winter is not something I do much, but the sun was out, so I bundled up in long-johns and gloves and went for a walk.

I grabbed some hot chocolate and a muffin at Tim Horton’s and was sitting down and my gaze fell towards a guy sitting down reading the paper and scribbling on his notepad. After a while he stood up and left.

I dunno what told me to do it but I left too and just followed him.
I didn’t feel seedy doing it, as I had no ill intentions, but I simply wanted to see what he was doing.

He walked all over downtown for a good 30 minutes, greeted a few people he knew (as I did as well to a few people I knew that I came across) and eventually went up to the front door of a house, an overweight lady came to the door, they kissed and he glanced over his shoulder a few times and then went inside.

I thought to myself, what was he up to?
Was he cheating on his wife or girlfriend?
Was that his wife/girlfriend and he was simply a cautious kinda guy that liked to repeatedly look over his shoulder every time he went into a door?

Whatever the case was, that was his life.

I take walks by myself all the time but this was one of the very few times that I could honestly say it was eventful. I’ve sat in a park and walked others do their things tons of time, or in a crowded square but following them was taking it a little over the norm.

I don’t think I would do it again as I don’t know what I would tell someone if they caught me but it was a fond experience, at the very least.

Then something very coincidental happened.
I found out there was a movie about the EXACT same thing I did, except it progresses on to someone who takes it too far. I watched it and was shocked at not only how well it was made, but at how similar the guy was to me: Following

Yup…

February 1, 2005 Posted by | Uncategorized | Leave a comment